Sesame Crunch Candy

Whoa…it’s been a long, long, long, looooong time. I really love these sesame crunch candies and I always have to fight the urge to buy them since 1) they are not cheap and 2) not good for me. Well, I sort of figured a solution to that, at least the first problem. It is so much cheaper to make your own and you get sooo much more (doesn’t help my second problem). AND, it’s SUPER easy! I would rather stick with honey so I cut the brown sugar some but realized if you cut all the sugar you get a blob of sesame not sesame crunch! And you have to eat it with a spoon or keep it always in the fridge so it can stay “hard.” I think the key when cutting the brown sugar is making sure you heat the honey/sugar to the right temperature. If it’s too cool it will not set. Oh, and to offset my second problem, the extra sugar is not good for me, but sesame seeds are REALLY good for you, no matter what color. Supposedly it helps keep your hair black. Haven’t eaten black sesame seeds consistently enough to see if it actually works. Or actually, haven’t made my husband eat it enough to see if it works since I’ve only started graying. I’d better put it in my diet so I don’t gray!

Got the recipe from Spoonful.com. Crunch away!

20140403_144928

20140403_145520

 

1 1/4 cup sesame seeds

3 Tbsp honey

2 Tbsp brown sugar

 

Place honey and sugar in sauce pot. Heat and stir for about 5 minutes until you notice  that it bubbles up, Allow it to bubble for a couple of minutes but don’t let it burn. Remove from heat and add sesame seeds. Stir mixture and place on oiled surface or parchment paper. Flatten and allow to cool and set.

Leave a Reply

