Venus paired with the moon

Did anyone see Venus last night?

image

It looked light a big bright star next to the moon. I had no idea Venus was going to be seen last night but I got a call from my mom who told me to go outside and look at the really bright star next to the moon. She said she was taking a walk and the bright light didn’t move so it had to be a star but my dad didn’t believe her because it was too bright. So she called me to confirm she was not seeing things. And it’s not like I’m an astronomer or anything. By far! But I did see the space station several months ago and it was moving so it couldn’t be that. So on to Google to search! And sure enough found out it was Venus! Aah, the things we would never figure out without Google or an astronomer!

It was an amazing sight! It was so bright. After I realized it was Venus I grabbed my daughter and went outside to see it since she’s been reading and listening to books on CD about the solar system. She absolutely loves Mrs. Frizzle and The Magic School Bus! I’m only more excited about these things because I want to show her what she has only read or heard about.

How much is out there and we merely caught a glimpse last night of what our great Creator God has created. There’s a verse in the Bible in Genesis 1:1 that says “In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.” God created something out of nothing. Who can do that? But God did. And it’s interesting that the verse says God created the heavens and the earth. It doesn’t say God created the universe or the planets or Mars or Venus. But, God created the earth. How specific is that? And how important is the earth?

Leave a Reply

