Kkakdugi aka cubed radish kimchi

Well, when I post I post. I have been up to a lot lately as you can see. But not a lot of blogging. I’ve especially been working on my Korean side dishes. Since my husband is Korean I’ve come to eat and like Korean food more, especially side dishes. But, spending $5.99 and more per pound? I thought I’d just better learn. And, once again, with Google, no one can say they can’t cook. Even a mouse can cook! Haha! Who knows where that is from? So the next two posts are two Korean side dishes I really enjoy especially the cucumber one.

image

I got the recipe from Maangchi– my go to for how to make Korean food.

I’m lazy so I didn’t even bother with pat drying the radish. And if you’re trying to watch sodium intake, like I am for my husband, start with less fish sauce and add more to taste. If you’re not sure how spicy it’ll be start with less hot pepper flakes and add as needed.

4 lb Korean radish (or daikon)
2 Tbsp salt
2 Tbsp sugar
2 Tbsp minced garlic
1 tsp minced ginger
4 stalks chopped green onion
1/4 cup fish sauce
2/3 cup hot pepper flakes

Cube radish into 1 inch cubes. Mix with salt and sugar. Let sit while you prepare other ingredients then mix all together.

image

This is my lazy way. Feel free to follow instructions at Maangchi’s site.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

