Healthier Chocolate Chip Cookies

So today we were having a lunch at our place and I needed to make some dessert so decided I’ll make them on the healthier side. I used the recipe behind the Nestle chocolate chips bag and made some substitutions. I knew I could replace oil with applesauce but didn’t know how much. In previous recipes I just substituted half and they still tasted good. I went searching online again and found I could fully substitute the oil but it would change the consistency of the cookie. I wanted to fully get rid of the oil so gave it a shot! And instead of using white and brown sugar I used honey although I heard it all ends up the same in your system. If you have any know how about that please enlighten me! Send me a comment! So the cookie came out not bad if you’re ok with a more cake-like, moist cookie.

image

image

Here’s what I did. You can find the original recipe here.

1 cup ground oatmeal

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup white whole wheat

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

3/4 cup honey

1 cup applesauce

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 eggs

2 cups chocolate chips

Leave a Reply

