White as Snow

Interestingly enough after looking at that white, clean stove I was reminded of how the Lord’s death on the cross has washed all my sins away and has made me whiter than snow. “Purge my sin with hyssop, and I will be clean; Wash me, and I will be whiter than snow” (Psalm 51:7); “Come now and let us reason together, Says Jehovah. Though your sins are like scarlet, They will be as white as snow; Though they are as red as crimson, They will be like wool” (Isaiah 1:18). In considering all that gunk on my stove top I realized there is also a lot of gunk in my inward being. Gunk that has been collecting, building up, even cooked on! The evil, criticizing, judgment passing thoughts about others, the never-spoken-aloud pride in my inward being, let alone the outward things I do that are just plain rude like my bad attitude in word and gestures when I am unhappy with something. This especially comes out in dealing with all the little things with my daughter and of course with my dear, beloved husband that has to put up with me. What are we to do? Just succumb to the fact that we will just be stuck with it and try to make the best of it? That’s like all the cleaning agents I tried to use on the stove top. I tried the “I’ll try to be better next time” agent, “I won’t do it again” agent, “I’ll hold it even though I’m going to blow” agent, etc. Have any of those worked to make me clean, to wash me of the sins I try not to do and am powerless to (“For what I work out, I do not acknowledge; for what I will, this I do not practice; but what I hate, this I do”-Romans 7:15). NOPE! But there is One, Jesus Christ, who came to wash me of those sins! “The next day he saw Jesus coming to him and said, Behold, the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world!” (John 1:29). He IS the baking soda and vinegar! I don’t have to try to not sin I just have to believe that He died and shed His blood for me and I am spontaneously washed. Not a mere washing but a washing that makes me whiter than snow! Wow, and I don’t even deserve it. Thank you Lord Jesus for dying for my sins.

Check out this You Tube video on The Precious Blood of Christ!

Leave a Reply

